Skip to content

A Colorful Day

March 30, 2011
tags:

Hi from McPopper Children’s Hospital! It’s Lily, and it’s another beautiful day in Kite Tree. Today is March 30th, which means it is Vincent van Gogh’s birthday! Do you know who he is? He was an artist who lived from 1853 to 1890. And, he is one of my favorites! Do you have a favorite artist? Who is it? At first, Vincent van Gogh liked to draw and paint everyday people, and the colors were dark. But later he started painting with bright colors, and he put the paint on really thick. Some of his paintings are landscapes, some are portraits, and some are pictures of places or objects. Actually, he made a whole bunch of different paintings of a vase filled with sunflowers. It reminds me of when I drew Ping & Pong and Day Z Girl from the bouquet of flowers that my parents got for me. Vincent van Gogh really used color to express himself. And I guess I did, too! I bet he would have loved Mr. McPopper’s markers. But…who wouldn’t!?!

Now I’m really in the mood to draw. Are you? Vincent van Gogh made a very famous painting of his bedroom in his house in Arles, France, called Bedroom at Arles. Maybe I’ll draw a picture of my hospital room! I’ll call it Bedroom at Kite Tree. Let us know what you draw today. And don’t forget…have a critterrific day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

