Skip to content

Bird’s the Word

May 4, 2011

Hey, what’s up? It’s Max, and it’s already the month of May. This is my favorite month because “May” is so close to “Max.” The first two letters are the same, and the “x” and “y” are next to each other in the alphabet. But no one likes this month more than Dr. Duck Ling. Why? Because today is when Bird Day was first observed in the United States. And being a bird, Dr. Duck Ling is very proud. The first Bird Day was on May 4, 1894, which is funny because Lily, the Hospital Critterz, and I visited Caleb and Tiny on the prairie in 1893! That’s one year earlier. (I bet Caleb’s chickens liked Bird Day when they heard about it the next year.) Bird Day reminds us that we should take time to appreciate the different birds around us. So whether it’s the pigeons at the park, the seagulls at the beach, or the hummingbird right outside your window, stop and look at the birds. And listen to them, too! Listen to them sing. Listen to them squawk. And if the bird is Dr. Duck Ling, listen to his jokes!

Bye for now!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. isabel permalink
    May 9, 2011 12:41 pm

    dear stacey,
    i am in a book club. i hope i get to read your series,
    Love,
    Isabel
    tell berry bruise i said hi.

  2. Samantha permalink
    May 9, 2011 12:42 pm

    Dear Stacey,
    My book club will see you soon! I am so excited to meet you! I heard of your book, and now I can not waut to read it! Tell all the critterz Happy mothers day. Oh, and don’t forget to tell Ditto that he is super cute!

  3. Sophie permalink
    May 9, 2011 12:43 pm

    Hi. I have a book club and we’re going to read your book, prarie pet, and I’m so excited! The fifth graders love it so I think we will to. I think that for fifth grade, hospital critterz is as much of a sensation as magic treehouse was in seccond grade!!! Say hi to Kwon Do for me!!!!
    From,
    Sophie

  4. May 10, 2011 10:48 pm

    Hi, it’s Stacey, and Beary Bruised, Ditto, and Kwon Do say hi to you, too! Thanks for writing to us, and thanks for inviting me to your Book Club. See you soon!

Leave a Reply

