Skip to content

Dalí and Me

May 11, 2011
tags:

Hi from McPopper Children’s Hospital! It’s Lily at the computer, and today is Salvador Dalí’s birthday. Do you know who he is? He was a Spanish artist who lived from 1904 to 1989. He was considered a Surrealist painter, and his art looked very unusual. He called his paintings “hand-painted dream photographs.” Really cool! I’d love to paint what I see in my dreams, too, but dreams can be hard to remember. Sometimes I have great dreams, but then I wake up and forget them. Does that happen to you? I think I’m really going to try hard to remember my dream tonight so that I can draw it tomorrow. That’ll be fun. What’s also cool about Dalí is that he wasn’t just a painter. He was a sculptor, a filmmaker, a jewelry maker, and a writer, just to name a few. He did so many things! Each with his own personal style. And he also had a really awesome and crazy mustache. Talk about personal style!

So, happy birthday Dalí, and for all of you out there…have a critterrific day! (And I hope you have a critterrific night filled with critterrific dreams!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

