Skip to content

Built to Last

June 8, 2011

Hi from McPopper Children’s Hospital! It’s Lily, and it’s another warm day in Kite Tree. I’m happy to say that today is the birthday of a really interesting person named Frank Lloyd Wright. Have you heard of him? He’s an American architect who lived from 1867-1959. Do you like architecture? I do. I like to look at buildings and see how they’re designed. A lot of Frank Lloyd Wright’s architecture is known for being influenced by nature (which is a lot like how I drew Ping & Pong from the bouquet of flowers my mom and dad got me)! He built some houses that were long and flat, and they had large, open spaces inside to blend with the environment. The coolest part is that this type of architecture is called the “Prairie” style because the houses really fit in with the low and flat land of the prairie. And after my trip to the prairie in Hospital Critterz: The Prairie Pet, I definitely know why it’s called that! Cherry-Ot told me that Frank Lloyd Wright’s love of nature started when he was younger and worked on his uncle’s farm in Wisconsin. (I wonder if the farm was a lot like Caleb’s!) Frank Lloyd Wright wanted his architecture to make the landscape even more beautiful and not do anything to take away from it. And if you ask me, that’s just what he did.

So, happy birthday Frank Lloyd Wright! And don’t forget…have a critterrific day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Samantha permalink
    June 13, 2011 7:47 pm

    Hey Stacey!
    Remember me? Well anyway, can you tell me when the net book will come out? I really want to start to read!
    Love, Samantha

    • June 16, 2011 9:37 pm

      Hi Samantha! It’s Stacey, and of course I remember you! I’m so glad you enjoyed the book, and I will let you know when the next one comes out. Thanks for writing to us. You are critterrific!

Leave a Reply

