Skip to content

Labor Day is on its Way!

August 31, 2011
tags:

Hi from McPopper Children’s Hospital! It’s Lily, and I want to say hi to all of our readers. I’d also like to say “Happy Early Labor Day!” Labor Day is celebrated on Monday, September 5th, which is coming up next week. Do you have any plans? I like it when my family and friends visit me on Labor Day.

Fishy Kitty said that Labor Day is a holiday that honors all of the working people, and it’s celebrated in the US, Canada, and even Puerto Rico. Europe also has a Labor Day holiday on May 1st. I definitely like the idea of honoring working people because work is hard! Samantha and Dr. Ling work a lot and have really long hours, so I like having a day where we get to thank them.

Cherry-Ot told me that two people helped come up with the idea for a Labor Day holiday, and they made the first Labor Day parade in September in 1882. Their names are Matthew Maguire, a machinist from New Jersey, and Peter J. McGuire, a carpenter from New York. Then, in 1887, Oregon was the first state to make Labor Day a holiday, and President Grover Cleveland declared Labor Day a national holiday in 1894. That was a good idea! (Also, now I know more about Grover Cleveland because of Max’s post called “Presidential Surprise” from a couple of weeks ago. Do you remember Grover Cleveland? He was counted twice as the 22nd and 24th president because he was elected for two terms that didn’t follow right after each other. And now I know he made Labor Day a national holiday during his second term. Pretty cool!)

I hope all of you out there have a Happy Labor Day, and if you have friends in the hospital, you should go and visit them. It will mean a lot to them, and to me and Max, too! And don’t forget…have a critterrific day!

Leave a Reply

