Skip to content

Teachers Are Number One

September 28, 2011

Hi from McPopper Children’s Hospital! It’s me, Lily, and I hope you’re enjoying the day, wherever you are. Did you have a good weekend? What did you do? My teacher from my school came and visited me. It was really fun to see her. She told me about what was going on in class, and we talked about other stuff, too, like how she just got a new kitten. Fishy Kitty wanted to hear all about it! Then we went to the playroom and played games with Max and the Hospital Critterz. My teacher also read aloud some chapters from a book that the Hospital Critterz picked out…can you guess what it was? Hospital Critterz: The Prairie Pet by Stacey Laura Lloyd, of course!

I’m so thankful to have had such nice teachers in school. My mom and dad can remember their favorite teachers from when they were younger, and if you’re lucky, you’ll have more than one favorite. My mom asked me what makes a good teacher, and I think it’s someone who believes in you and helps you realize that you can do and learn anything. It’s also someone who tells you that you are special and that you have so many things to offer to the world. And it’s someone who lets you know that it’s okay to make mistakes, and as long as you try and do your best, you are still a winner. My teachers definitely make me feel this way. Are there teachers that you really like? What did you learn from them? Would you want to be a teacher one day?

Here’s a poem that Beary Bruised and I wrote for teachers everywhere. Actually, that’s the title!

For Teachers Everywhere

Teachers help us every day,

in so many different and important ways.

From math and science, to reading and art,

teachers give us a running start!

So to all of the teachers, I just want to say,

thanks for all that you do, and have a critterrific day!

No comments yet

Leave a comment