Skip to content

Play Ball!

October 19, 2011
tags:

Hey, what’s up? It’s me, Max, and today is the first game of the World Series! It’s actually the 107th World Series to be exact, and I can’t wait to watch it! As you know, I play baseball, so I’m totally excited to see the American League Texas Rangers take on the National League St. Louis Cardinals. Who are you rooting for? Dr. Duck Ling has become a big St. Louis Cardinal fan because a cardinal is a kind of bird. It was an easy decision for him.

What’s cool about this matchup between St. Louis and Texas is that nobody really predicted it. Both the Cardinals and the Rangers started out the season without their best pitchers, since Cardinals pitcher Adam Wainwright got hurt during spring training, and Rangers pitcher Cliff Lee went to Philadelphia as a free agent. So nobody saw this coming! But I think that’s what’s so fun about baseball. You really can’t predict who is going to come out on top. And as you watch during the season, you see teams that start out slowly but then suddenly get momentum and start winning. You also see teams that start off great but then end up losing their steam. It’s really hard to tell what’s going to happen, and I think that’s what keeps us watching!

I also really like seeing the World Series because I think it’d be so incredibly awesome to play in it. I bet the players on St. Louis and Texas also thought a lot about playing in the World Series when they were my age. And I bet just getting there is a dream come true. Of course, it would be great to win, too!

Bye for now!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

