Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving!

November 23, 2011
tags:

Hi from McPopper Children’s Hospital! It’s me, Lily, and I wanted to wish all of our readers a wonderful, happy, and yummy Thanksgiving! It’s definitely one of my favorite holidays. Here at the hospital, I like to order turkey with cranberry sauce for dinner so I can really get into the Thanksgiving mood. We also have a lot of visitors at the hospital over the long weekend, which is always nice. I like when there are a lot of people around, and it’s a special time to be with friends and family.

Cherry-Ot told me that in 1863, President Abraham Lincoln declared that the last Thursday of November would be a national day of giving thanks, and on November 26, 1941, Congress made Thanksgiving Day a legal national holiday. But Cherry-Ot also told me about a writer, editor, and poet named Sarah Josepha Hale who lived during the 1800s and wrote a lot about having a national Thanksgiving holiday. Sarah Josepha Hale thought it was an important day for people and communities to come together and reflect on the year and what they were thankful for. She wrote letters to many Presidents saying that, “Thanksgiving, like the Fourth of July, should be considered a national festival and observed by all our people.” And President Lincoln finally agreed with her! I’m sure glad he did!

If you didn’t know about Sarah Josepha Hale and her Thanksgiving writing, I bet you know one thing she wrote, and I bet that you know it by heart…she’s the author of the nursery rhyme “Mary Had a Little Lamb!” How cool is that!

So, from all us here in Kite Tree, we hope you have a critterrific Thanksgiving! We are thankful to have readers like you!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

