Skip to content

Free Write

May 16, 2012
tags:

Hey, what’s up? It’s me, Max, and today Lily and I tried something new. We decided to do an exercise, but it wasn’t the physical kind. We didn’t run or jump or anything like that. Instead, we did a five minute writing exercise, and it was a lot of fun! Here’s how it works:

1. Get a blank piece of paper and a pencil (or pen!).
2. Use a stopwatch or have someone time you for five minutes.
3. Start writing down everything that comes into your mind, but don’t let yourself stop writing! Don’t even lift your pencil off of the paper. Just keep writing and writing and writing about whatever pops into your head. You can even write, “I don’t know what to write about but I have to keep writing because I’m not supposed to stop!”
4. When the five minutes are up, read over what you wrote. It’s kind of funny to see what you came up with!

Lily wrote about her friends in her class at school, and then she wrote about her teacher. I started out writing about baseball, but then I ended up writing for most of the time about different types of food that I like. I guess I was hungry! Be sure to tell us what you wrote about today!

Bye for now!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

